curvy*mommy's corner

Book Review: The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

Posted on: August 12, 2008

Buy Now at Amazon.com

Buy Now at Amazon.com

I really wanted to love this book, as I so thoroughly enjoyed The Other Boleyn Girl. But this story was SO boring and repetitive.

I got really tired of hearing about how Mary was regal and untouchable, and George was honorable (but a fool), and Bess brought herself up from nothing and loved nothing more than her houses and land. Over and over, the same things. Yawn.

The plot was boring. Nothing ever really happened. A lot of planning, but no results. Back and forth from house to house. I didn’t feel a need to keep reading – it was far from compelling. I realize this story is based on real events, so maybe this just wasn’t the best subject for Ms. Gregory to write a novel about.

I forced myself to keep reading, but found my mind drifting off several times, because I wasn’t engaged in the story.

A disappointing read.

Started: 4-Aug-08 / Finished: 11-Aug-08

Leave a Reply

Book reviews from a working mom who’d rather read than sleep!

What I’m Currently Reading

Past Reviews

