curvy*mommy's corner

Book Review: Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell

Posted on: September 6, 2008

If you had told me that I would read and enjoy a book about presidential assassinations, I would have said you were crazy. My preferred genres are chick lit and historical fiction. But, I loved Assassination Vacation!

I decided to give this a try after seeing so many good reviews, and reading the first few pages on Amazon.com. I was laughing from the very beginning, and couldn’t wait to read more. So much so, that I didn’t want to wait to get it from Amazon, and went down to my local Borders to buy it that same day. I don’t usually do that – I’d rather save a couple bucks and wait.

It was funny and snarky in the tradition of Jen Lancaster and Laurie Notaro, with the added bonus of actual historical facts. Like all of us, I knew the basic facts of Lincoln’s assassination, but I didn’t know some of the more interesting details. And I knew nothing about McKinley’s and Garfield’s assassinations – what I had learned in school didn’t stick with me. But, now after reading this book, I know a lot more, and I think I’ll remember it, because it was so entertaingly told.

For me, President Garfield will now always be Mr. Loner McBookworm. LOL! And Robert Todd Lincoln will be Jinxy McDeath.

I highly recommend this book. Even if you think this isn’t your cup of tea, give it a try. It’ll be worth it.

Started: 29-Aug-08 / Finished: 04-Sept-08
Leave a Reply

Book reviews from a working mom who’d rather read than sleep!

What I’m Currently Reading

Past Reviews

