curvy*mommy's corner

Book Review: The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death: Reflections on Revenge, Germophobia, and Laser Hair Removal… by Laurie Notaro

Posted on: March 4, 2009

Buy it now at Amazon.com

Buy it now at Amazon.com

I had been waiting for this book for so long. I’m a HUGE fan of this author, and have loved all her previous essay books. In fact, they are some of the few books that have earned “keeper” status – I don’t swap them. This book did NOT disappoint.

HILARIOUS!! I was laughing out loud throughout, and I think I actually snort-laughed at one point even. The essay on “It’s all good” was so so funny – I’m laughing again just thinking about it. The story of her adventures on a cruise ship – priceless! I could really relate to the whitewater rafting trip. I must be an idiot girl, because the author feels like a good friend to me. 🙂

I stayed up all night (despite the fact that I had to be up at 6am for work, even!) reading this, because I could not put it down. Highly recommended! 🙂 Can’t wait for her next essay book!

1 Response to "Book Review: The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death: Reflections on Revenge, Germophobia, and Laser Hair Removal… by Laurie Notaro"

I absolutely love Laurie Notaro, too! I spent an entire afternoon reading this one — couldn’t put it down. I loved her story on laser hair removal best, I think, and the terrible experience with the bathroom / repair person fiasco! She’s so funny and seems like such a real, honest person — and you’re right, she seems just like a friend. 🙂 I feel like an “idiot girl” a lot of the time, too. But so fun!

Leave a Reply

Book reviews from a working mom who’d rather read than sleep!

What I’m Currently Reading

Past Reviews

