curvy*mommy's corner

Book Review: Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut: Essays and Observations by Jill Kargman

Posted on: May 24, 2012

This was a fun and quick read, with personal stories in the vein of Laurie Notaro and Jen Lancaster, two of my favorite authors. And as a mom of 3 kids, I could definitely identify with many of these essays, several of which made me laugh out loud.

However, as other reviewers have mentioned, the constant use of slang became really annoying. Curse words don’t bother me at all. But, as a grown woman, why was the author trying to speak like a teenager? It wasn’t cute, and it quickly became not funny. Aiight? Vom? Natch? Froke? I felt like I was reading essays from “Seventeen” magazine.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Book reviews from a working mom who’d rather read than sleep!

What I’m Currently Reading

Past Reviews

%d bloggers like this: