curvy*mommy's corner

Book Review: The Whole Wide Beauty: A Novel by Emily Woof

Posted on: May 24, 2012

I really did not care for this book. The plot was weak, and I never felt a connection to the characters. In fact, I didn’t much like the characters at all. The main character, Katherine, was so quick to take up an affair with her father’s protege, and carried on the entire time like it was her right to have this affair. But perhaps it ran in the family, since her uncle was living with another woman while her aunt was left in an asylum. Ugh. Infiedelity, mental illness, closeted homosexuality – not the types of themes I want to read about, and particularly not all in one book.

Overall, I found the story boring, and I didn’t look forward to reading it. If I hadn’t agreed to write a review as part of the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program, I most likely would have stopped reading this book about 50 pages in. It was definitely not my cup of tea.

Finally, from a grammatical point of view, I could not understand what was with the lack of quotation marks around dialogue. It made it so difficult to read!

Leave a Reply

Book reviews from a working mom who’d rather read than sleep!

What I’m Currently Reading

Past Reviews

