curvy*mommy's corner

Book Review: The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

Posted on: May 24, 2012

Buy it now on Amazon.com

I’ve been a Marian Keyes fan for a long time, so I always look forward to her new books. But with this one, I wasn’t sure about the supernatural spirit element, and to be honest, in the beginning I found it somewhat annoying.

This story started out slow for me. However, about 125 pages in, the story picked up and the spirit faded into the background for the most part. I enjoyed the flashback elements throughout the story that allowed us to understand why the characters acted the way they did, and also provided foreshadowing for what was going to happen later.

The first two-thirds of the book was generally light, typically chick lit fare. But the story got serious in a hurry towards the last part of the book, and I couldn’t stop reading, as I needed to find out what was going to happen.

The ending was satisfying, although the reappearance of the spirit annoyed me, and I could have done without the Epilogue altogether. I just didn’t care for the spirit aspect of the story and think the story could have been told without it.

Overall, it was an entertaining book, and I enjoyed reading it. Here’s to hoping Ms. Keyes doesn’t retrun to the supernatural element in her next novel.

Leave a Reply

Book reviews from a working mom who’d rather read than sleep!

What I’m Currently Reading

Past Reviews

